Friday, October 30, 2009

initiative games

The Triangle Game Initiative hosts the annual Triangle Games Conference, an event that includes lectures and panels dedicated to serious games and advanced learning technologies. The next Triangle Games Conference will be held on April ...Other sponsors include the paysafecard.com cards AG, the Storm Data GmbH, fatfoogoo AG, Hesse IT, the Frankfurt Economic Development, site initiative games arena, which SponsorPay GmbH, Gamigo, DMK internet e. ...Since the foundation in 1996, OnNet has been creating joyful internet services for net users such as online games and web based services. OnNet is concentrating its power on online games and becomes an initiative leader rolled as a ...YANKEES VS PHILLIES WORLD SERIES SCHEDULE FOR 2009!WORLD SERIES!WORLD SERIES GAME 2!WORLD SERIES GAME LIVE STREAM!WORLD SERIES GAME 2 TIME!SWEET MILLION LOTTERY. ... Article by Nobel Women's Initiative via WN Dharamshala: His Holiness the Dalai Lama and the people of Tibet affirm critical values that the world is in danger of losing. They are a model for all of us: despite the attack on their people and the displacement of their culture they preach and practice compassion ...Troy Knight Selected As Officer To Foster Triangle's Interactive Entertainment Industry.Example 2: This system defines 50 different one-handed weapons each with their own specific damage (a 1d3 to 1d20 range) with strike and initiative bonuses independently ranging from +0 to +3. Any game that defines large numbers of ...This social goods program builds on an earlier Zynga initiative where players of its YoVille game, a virtual town with 140 million inhabitants, raised donations for the San Francisco SPCA by purchasing bulldogs and tabby cats from the ...There is something atavistic and marvelous in the game master, hidden behind his curtain, spinning out mysteries and menace. It's the line on the table that says "here there be monsters." It also is a good place for hanging initiative ...Brad Pitt gives Katrina update at Clinton Global Initiative; other panels focus on education. `Mickey Mouse Clubhouse' prime-time Disney Channel special brings the gang to prime-time. As Jackson's 51st birthday approaches, ...Badger Games go Green. Posted September 16, 2009. POPULAR; RECENT. Microorganisms, Computers, and Ethanol A� Paper industry executive Troy Runge will lead the Wisconsin Bioenergy Initiative A� 4th Renewable Energy Finance Forum ...
I've had the game Blue Dragon for a while, but I've never really had the initiative to play it until now. I've been getting really involved in it and going through it pretty fast. After countless hours I finally got to disc three. I go to insert it into my disc trey and to my demise there's a dime sized hole in it like I've never seen before! The hole is real precise too, almost like a laser cut straight through it (there are no burn marks though, if any would be created by such an action).

How could this have happened? I've never inserted disc three into my Xbox 360, let alone played the game before until now. I also take really good care of my game discs so I know I didn't cause this (wouldn't even know how to without a laser). I also bought it brand new, it wasn't used.

Also, what can I do about this? I don't really want to have to re-buy the game, but I've had it sitting around for so long that I doubt any warranty I had remains.

Man I am infuriated right now... I hope someone can enlighten me in some way on this situation. Thanks in advance!
I've also searched around for the, may I say, missing piece to the game disc, but my luck has been consistent through the course of this event.
for any moron in here, IT'S NOT THE HOLE IN THE MIDDLE. Hence me playing games for years I think I would know that. The game is UNREADABLE, the hole in the middle wouldn't cause this now would it? Think before posting kid.
I can also provide a picture to anyone who believes I am fabricating this whole story.


I thought he was a good man and a Christian, but he has become a control freak. He manipulates me like I cant even state my opinion if it is opposite but everything he says is right, for example I told him I didn't want to get baptized because I was always biased towards it and I listened to people but I was wrong and the more I seek God I believe he will prepare me to be more spiritual he says, "Ok you need to get baptized next time, say it."... and then he calls me early in the morning and says, "Oh why are you laying down, you need to go out and feed the poor with me because God calls us to serve. " Mind you its not like I never feed the poor, I have done plenty of times including 2 weeks ago and I always serve people not just the poor.
I didn't fell well at the time and told him I will have a nervous breakdown if I go out after 3 hours of sleep and feeling sick physically and he says, "God is telling me this will makeyou feel better, your missing this opportunity."

The other night I was feeling like I wanted to throw up about us getting married because he is depending on loans and really my loan* to get us an apartment and he doesnt realize the value of working, and when I ask him if he will please get a job and then we can consider marriage since he will have a better time paying off that debt, and he says, " I will provide for you...I will."

But isn't words without action dead?

I must admit I fell into the trap of the what if game. He asked me 2 days ago what if I would marry him in January and well I wasnt thinking and said oh sure because he was loving on me and making me feel special, but after weighing out the costs I apologized to him and realized God will want you to both be ready for something and that requires using your brain to be prepared......

And When I told him, "I am just not ready." He says, " YOUR GOING TO HAVE ANXIETY AND FEAR WHEN GOD IS CALLING YOU TO SOMETHING AND GOD IS CALLING US TO MARRIAGE AND IM SICK OF THIS I DONT WANT THE RATIONALE YOU, I WANT THE YOU WHO IS GOING TO JUST DO IT AND TRUST IN HIM TO DO IT AND YOUR MISSING AN OPPORTUNITY."

Now I tell him in an email what I need, and I need to grow spiritually and I need him to be able to encourage me but not act like God, and want to take the initiative to get out of debt, and he says he did encourage me by telling me God told me to get out of bed and go serve, and he says he loves me and wants me to see the woman GOD wants me to be.
I mean he quotes scripture but it feels like he does it out of..idk..
Am I wrong to feel this is not right, I feel scared because he is starting to creep me out.

and I love him but I feel that he can say he loves me but look at the actions.


My boyfriend just recently got a really good paying job, so i let his laziness slide, so i can be a good girlfriend and pay him back by doing housework... but he acted the same way before he had a good job and throughout all of our fights, has never changed... I cook, clean, organize, everything... if i ask him to take out the trash, he waits a week then i just give up and take it out for him.. i just wish he had some initiative, like in my family where if something needs to be done, we do it and we dont do it only halfway.. he will leave his dirty dishes everywhere, his video games all over the floor, and he takes off his socks and leaves them all over the house.. ext. I know ill be with him for a long time, and he is a good provider, but i dont know if i am justified in asking him to do small things around the house or if its going to ever get any better... Its not like im old and have nothing better to do.. im only 18 and weve lived together for 2 years now.. and i go to school. but what should i say or do???? oh and for the record... video games suck!!


Several days ago we were really liking each other: he basically told people that we were dating (even though he never directly asked me to go out with him and when him and I and 2 other friends were watching a movie, he layed his head on me and I layed mine on him, etc. and he randomly said I love you like a week ago.

I have a hard time showing affection, like when he randomly said I love you I was just like uh uh okay awkwardly. And I guess I never really made the initiative to start conversation with him nor do I like follow him around and constantly try to be with him, but that's just how I am. I would always give him rides home and we would sit on the bus to games and competitions together.

So two days ago he didn't sit with me on the bus and at our competition he basically wasn't around me at all and I don't think said more than 2 words to me. Because of this I didn't try to talk to him either because I assumed he hates me and doesnt want to be around me. So after the competition he awsked for a ride and I was like idk, idk, I don't think so...(my friend said he was being a total ass and that I should be mad at him). so he got a ride from someone else. we haven't spoke since.

I like him a lot and it kills me. Is it too late to fix it? How would I go about making it better?


Mm, mmm, mm!?
Holy S**t?
or
Someting inside is now verking?


Capital Crunch: Obama Confronts Waning Political Capital

October 05, 2009 8:15 AM


ABC Newsa�� Rick Klein reports:

Think the White House may want to work on its vote-counting operation before the health care bill makes it to the Senate floor?


Think the CBO might be just as brutal as the IOC -- with scoring that counts just as much?


Think the public debate over Afghanistan strategy gets any easier as events shape perceptions?


Nobody will much remember a 24-hour trip to Denmark in early fall if, by the start of winter, there's a health care bill in place and a Afghanistan policy everyone in the administration can agree to.


But whether President Obama's focus turns abroad again or stays at home for a stretch, the president is confronting the limits of his political capital -- from an Olympic loss, to the near-certain loss of a public option in a health care bill, and the end of streamlined decision-making on Afghanistan.


This is a time where the president needs to be spending his capital -- in the halls of Congress, and on the world stage. But when he talks, who is listening? (And does the president lose options himself the longer he chooses to keep listening?)


Testing time: "A number of factors have combined to strip him of the camouflage that he once enjoyed when it comes to health-care policy,"David Broder writes in his Sunday Washington Post column. "His main leverage point is the realization among nearly all Democrats that nothing would be as costly to them, in their individual 2010 races, as the failure of this Congress, with its heavy Democratic majorities, to pass a substantive health-reform bill. That may be enough in the end for Obama to succeed. But the task of getting there will really test him -- and expose his core values."

Thirteen months before the mid-term elections: "Obama is trying to prod Congress into passing legislation on health care overhaul, climate change, and financial services regulation by early next year, before election-year political pressures make it harder to persuade wary lawmakers to vote for the dramatic change Obama promised in his campaign," Susan Milligan reports in The Boston Globe. "He must also make difficult decisions on whether to increase troop strength and commit America to a larger, longer mission in Afghanistan. And the economy, while apparently on the road to recovery, is still not producing new jobs and continues to generate anxiety around the country."

Rep. Chris Van Hollen: "I do believe that if we are not successful in passing health care reform, it will make it much more difficult to enact other major initiatives," said Van Hollen, D-Md., the DCCC chairman.

(Ya think?)

The White House is using its Monday to re-set the focus of the debate on health care -- again.


At 11:10 am ET in the Rose Garden, "the President will welcome doctors from across the country to an event in the Rose Garden, where he will deliver remarks on the need for health insurance reform this year." (They're coming from every state, which means plenty of local-media pick-up.)


(And Organizing for America wants letters from doctors -- and others -- to make the case: "You don't have to be a doctor or an expert to write an effective letter -- you just have to have an opinion or a personal story to share. And these letters are short, usually just a paragraph or two, but they can have a huge impact because it shows your representatives and the media what local folks are thinking in the most public way possible.")


Yet even inside the Finance Committee -- a still-uncertain fate? Sen. Ron Wyden, D-Ore., and Sen. Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va., remain on the fence -- along with Sen. Olympia Snowe, R-Maine.


"At least two Democrats on the Senate Finance Committee have refused to pledge support for the health-care reform bill scheduled for a vote this week, underscoring the hard work ahead for President Obama as he tries to enact the most ambitious domestic policy legislation in more than a generation," Ceci Connolly reports in The Washington Post."Committee defeat of the bill is an unlikely scenario, but one that highlights the power every Senate Democrat -- and perhaps a few Republicans -- holds going forward in a process that could stretch beyond Thanksgiving."


Might the public option live? "Senior administration officials have been holding private meetings almost daily at the Capitol with senior Democratic staff to discuss ways to include a version of the public plan in the healthcare bill that Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) plans to bring to the Senate floor this month, according to senior Democratic congressional aides," the Los Angeles Times' Noam N. Levey and Janet Hook report.


"It a�� marks a crucial test of Obama's command of the inside game in Washington in which deals are struck behind closed doors and wavering lawmakers are cajoled a


me and my boyfriend have only been together for about a month and we were good friends before that. before we became official he was great. he was sweet and attentive and even took the initiative to come see me at college (we go to two different ones that are about two and half hours apart) but after that he has been kinda distant. i asked him about it and he said school has just been crazy. thats fine but we only communicate through text and its hard not hearing anything more than good morning and goodnight with a few smilies and yeps in between. well there was a big drama when he came up with our parents throwing a fit (nothing happened btw to help in ur analysis) so we decided we would just stick to seeing each other when i come home (he only lives about thirty minutes from our hometown) well last time a came home we were supposed to spend that saturday night together and plans got changed to where we were only gonna get to see each other for about an hour. then he texts me about thirty minutes before telling me that he is gonna eat with his parents instead even though he had been with them all day. well i ended up driving to his school that night and going to the football game with him. this weekend i am coming in and he has to hang around school for a play he is on crew with so i offered to drive up saturday and see him on his breaks. he didn't want me to but then about thirty minutes later all the sudden he might be free saturday to go to the movies with his friends and wants to know if i want to go. i feel like i am having to make him spend time with me and its never one on one. what is going on with him? i have told him that at any point in time if he realizes that he doesn't want to be in a relationship that it would be better for both of us if he just let me know and we moved on. he is still really sweet. a few nights ago he go busy and didn't text me the whole night. about 11 30 i get a text telling me that he was really sorry and that he hoped i wasn't upset and he really missed me. and everynight he tells me goodnight sweetie or sweetheart. i keep getting confusing signals. how do i approach this if i even do?


Really after Henin left there has been a wide open field

List of Champions after her retirement:
Ana Ivanovic
Venus Williams
Serena Williams
Serena Williams
Svetlana Kuznetsova
Serena Williams
Kim Clijsters

Now let's take kim clijsters out of the picture. Which current player (doesnt have to be a grand slam champ) really took the reigns and became the most dominant in the game? And you must have a player as an answer, not "noone"


My girlfriend of 6 months and I broke up (my initiative) because her ex has been trying to get back with her. She still is hung up on him and after we broke up she went after him and once he got her he began playing games. She is really confused but told me she just wants to be friends.

We had a great relationship. Is it possible she still loves me? She still calls me and texts me all the time and gets upset when i dont want to hang out.

Is being her friend going to screw me over in the long run?


Just general tips of making a good cv that will catch an employees attention and gain an interview. I have included bits of my cv please feel free to criticize it and say were i could improve. Much appreciated.


A self motivated individual with a good understanding of the business world. I am a keen worker who is able to work on my own initiative who works well with other team members. Proven leadership skills in Young Enterprise and an individual dedicated to high quality standards in all his work.

Education and Qualifications

Staffordshire University

Rainbow Playworld
March 2009 - Present

At Rainbow Playworld I am usually allocated to the kitchen area where I serve customers and take food orders to customers. I enjoy working at Rainbow Playworld as this is a company was recently opened a few years ago and we as a team can feel the friendship and enthusiasm throughout.

Buzzard Valley Vineyard
October 2007 a�� March 2009

In the Buzzard Valley Vineyard I work as a waiter and bar staff, I am often left in sole charge of serving food and providing drinks at the bar. This has allowed me to use my own initiative and I have learned how to manage high demand periods.

Game
August 2006 a�� March 2009

My mainly responsible at Game are to cash up, answer telephone calls, answer any customer queries and deal with customer in a satisfying manner.

All of my work experiences have involved me working in a team as well as on my own. This involved me being organized, determined to succeed and commitment e.g. ensure sales targets are met.

Hobbies and interests

Leadership a�� when studying Young Enterprise I took the role of sales director where I was able to prove my planning skills which lead to my sales team into success.
Vehicles - I have interest on vehicles in particular cars and I enjoy maintaining my vehicle components to high standard.
Marketing a�� have an interest in how adverts, movies etc have been made i.e. why that particular location for the film why those cast members.

I also have an interest in reading, going to the cinema and traveling.

Please note i have removed all personal information i.e. address etc and selected which i believe are most important parts of the CV. Thanks again
2008 - Present
HND Business and Management


Aries- Get out and make a difference today. Go for what you want and envy no one. Treat yourself with something you've always wanted.
Leo -Today is your day to stand out and just let loose and have fun for once. Make the best of the day and approach everyone and everything with confidence. You will discover something that you didn't know about someone today.
Sagittarius- Youa��re looking too hard to find the answer, it truly is right in front of you. Take the initiative and get out and meet new people today. Be true to yourself and don't do anything you don't want to.
Taurus- You made a mistake and its time to make up for it. Be nice even though you want nothing more but revenge. Use the ol' kill them with kindness." Face your fears today and achieve greatness.
Virgo- You can't let intimidation get to you; don't be afraid to try something new. Be adventurous, don't procrastinate any longer.
Capricorn- Don't be afraid to take a chance, something inside you is bothering you and you need to solve it.
Gemini- Youa��re never guaranteed tomorrow. Make the most of this day. Big events mean you may need to step up your game.
Libra-Do what you think is right. Youa��re too worried about what other people think of you, so do things that make you happy.
Aquarius- You will face a challenge today, but don't worry, not a road block. This is only something that can make you or break you. So be strong.
Cancer- There is so much you don't know, that you will find today. Be open to new things.
Scorpio- Be active today, you need to run off that stress you've been dragging with you.
Pisces- Nothing is impossible, that's the key to today. Don't limit yourself. Give everything you do today 110% of your effort.


Key:
Aries
3/21a��4/19
Leo
7/23a��8/22
Sagittarius
11/22a��12/21
Taurus
4/20a��5/20
Virgo
8/23a��9/22
Capricorn
12/22a��1/19
Gemini
5/21a��6/21
Libra
9/23a��10/22
Aquarius
1/20a��2/18
Cancer
6/22a��7/22
Scorpio
10/23a��11/21
Pisces
2/19a��3/20


PERSONAL DETAILS:

NAME:
_______________

ADDRESS:


TELEPHONE:

EMAIL:aksdjf;klhag@hotmail.com

DATE OF BIRTH:2 January ____

HEALTH:Physically Fit

LICENCE:Learners Permit (Will be receiving Pa��s soon)



SUMMARY:
I previously worked at an Italian restaurant and a nightfiller at Woolworths. I have skills and experience in dealing with customers, storing and other store implications.

EDUCATION:


2008Diploma of Multimedia
Southbank Institute of Technology




2007Electrical Pre-apprenticeship
(Certificate I in Electrotechnology)
Chisholm Institute,____

Modules:

i��i��Electrical Concepts
i��i�?Wiring
i��i�?Mathematics
i��i�?Computing
i��i��OH&S


i��i��Arc Welding
i��i��CPR
i��i�?English
i��i�?Communication



2006Victorian Certificate of Education
Secondary School

Subjects:

i��i��i��Systems Technology
i��i��i��Mathematics
i��i��i�?Art
i��i��i�?English
i��i��i�?History



KEY SKILLS & EXPERIENCE:

Work Experience:
- As a store person at Frankston Chemist a�?My Chemista�? In Victoria/Melbourne (4months)
- Nightfill worker at Woolworths (7 Months)
- Waiter/bar person at Amicia��s restaurant. (6 months)

Trade Skills:

1Soldering
2Arc welding
3Circuit boards and component assembly
4Concepts of wiring and minor wiring repairs
5Good understanding of electronics
6Demonstrated good skills in using hand tools

Information Technology:

7MS Windows
8MS Office applications Access, Word, Excel and PowerPoint
9MS Publisher
10Internet and email
11Webpage creation
12Desktop publishing
13Installation of computer components and programs

Communication & Organisation:

14Can learn new skills and processes quickly
15Prepared to listen to advice and take instruction
16Enjoy working as part of a team
17Good verbal and written communication skills
18Physically able to carry out demanding work for long periods
19Self-motivated with the ability to use initiative
20Prepared to accept responsibility and work with the minimum of supervision
21Well-organised, punctual and reliable
22Experience in tills
23Customer service experience



HOBBIES & INTERESTS:

a�?Basketball
a�?Footballa�?Volleyballa�?Cooking
a�?Swimminga�?Video Gamesa�?Rugbya�?Soccer



REFEREES:


2 Referees
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm not looking for a office type job but just a retail job or somewhat

Any help is great.
sorry i have 2 referees i just didn't want to give out the information.


OK need a little help, I am shy, and I want to ask this girl out (unfortuntely I already have and she accepted, then had to cancel and she said she wanted to reschedule when things "slowed down" and she hasn't gotten back to me for the last month). I don't know how interested she may be, or if she is playing games, but I would like to call her one of these evenings and ask her out to do something during the weekend. What should I do and how should I approach this.

Another question, I am in my mid 20's and she is 19, should I tell her that I will pick her up (like I did the 1st time) or would it be better to tell her to meet me at so and so place at such and such a time.

Also ideas for a first date would be greatly appreciated. I just want to get to know her better. Nothing more, nothing less.

Or am I being to persistant, and should I leave it up to her to contact me, or do I need to take the initiative and ask her out once again.

Thanks


Viacom President P. Dauman: "We don't know much about substance, we're about fluff at Viacom"

[Dauman] told Gates a year ago, "We know kids, we know how to reach them; if you provide the substance we can be the megaphone."

Dauman said the "Get Schooled" initiative would find its way into plot lines and programs, like BET's documentary "Bring Your 'A' Game," which featured prominent black men who have achieved success.

Does anyone else find it disturbing that Viacom leadership has decided to be the megaphone for whatever Bill Gates' agenda may beand to interweave this agenda into its programming i.e. Spongebob, Dora the Explorer, the Daily Show, and all of its other popular programming?


Viacom President P. Dauman: "We don't know much about substance, we're about fluff at Viacom"

[Dauman] told Gates a year ago, "We know kids, we know how to reach them; if you provide the substance we can be the megaphone."

Dauman said the "Get Schooled" initiative would find its way into plot lines and programs, like BET's documentary "Bring Your 'A' Game," which featured prominent black men who have achieved success.

Does anyone else find it disturbing that Viacom leadership has decided to be the megaphone for whatever Bill Gates' agenda may beand to interweave this agenda into its programming i.e. Spongebob, Dora the Explorer, the Daily Show, and all of its other popular programming?


ok - here's the full story-
I am 27 years old, recently met a 34 year old through a friend. We went out for coffee and dinner one night. He immediately called after to ask me out for the next weekend. Out that weekend for dinner and a movie and have a great time. Sit together at church that Sunday, lunch with family/friends... things seemed to be going nicely.
Stay in contact throughout the week, and then next Fri he cooks for me at my house, an elaborate, 4 course meal...lot of effort, and we watch an old movie. The next day he is back at my house for a game, hangs out with my friends, is great to them, etc. He leaves Sat and asks me if I am going to church the next day. I answer yes, and then he says he will call me. Sunday he txts to make sure I'm coming, then txts to let me know he has saved me a seat and where...holds my hand, etc. All is normal.
After church we walk out and talk about our plans for the day, and he says "Well, call me when you get a break in the day, or I'll call you when I get a break." I txt him about 630 that night, ask him about his day, etc. He writes back that he is at the office, I say ok, well call me when you're free if you want. He says "U betcha."
And since then, silence? That was on Sunday and now it's Tues. I have made no effort to contact him again. Now I am wondering if I should text/email to say hey? Or not? I mean, he was SO nice and it just seems weird to drop it all of a sudden. Is he like, a honeymoon dater and is over it now? Is he waiting for me to call (he has taken 90% of the initiative so far)...
I need opinions!


I went on a third date with a guy a week and a half ago. Things went great. When I arrived home that day, I texted him and said I had a great time and he texted right back saying he did also. After that I didn't hear from him for a few days. Then this past Thursday evening, he texted me saying, "hey cutie, how are things going? I've been so freaking busy here!!" I texted back saying, "Things are going good. Hope we can see each other sometime soon." I received no response over this past holiday weekend. Then I texted him last night saying, "Hey, how's it going?" He said, "Good, just driving home from my friend's place." (which is about two hours away, so I'm thinking he spent the holiday weekend there. I asked him if he'd want to get together this weekend and do something. His reply was, "That may work. I'll let you know." If he was real interested, wouldn't he say something else? Like, "that sounds great" or "I'd really like to see you." I just don't get it. In the beginning, he texted all the time and now I barely hear from him and when I do, I'm always making the initiative. Do I just simply have a talk with him, just simply asking if he wants to see one another anymore? I don't want to be strung along nor need games; don't want to waste my time. What should I do?


Well here is how it goes. I am in 2nd yr of college & have a set of friends though my social life has been on the brunt from the last 2-3 months because I have also taken up a course alongside my graduation ,which does not leave me with enough time to socialise with my friends . This is actually ruining all my friendships but what is more troublesome is that a girl from my class is taking advantage of this. She is slightly wayward. she doesn't gel with most of the people. She blames me for taking away her friend. Well her friend was also my friend but she liked my company more. So now what she does is that
she goes running & occupies my place with my friends just to foster her position amongst them. When we all were taking snaps all my friends lined up (they were 4 including this troublesome girl)
& called me to be with them but she immediately said that pic should be of only those 4. She is doing so much to snatch my friends away from me & i am doing nothing but seeing her play such games against me. i believe that no relation including friendship can be imposed on one, it comes from heart so I am doing nothing but I suppose one has to act as this is really v v v killing. what should i do now? Should i also start doing what she is doing?Should i also take the initiative to win my friends back by taking part in this rat race & if yes then how should i do it please tell, you can really help me.


Does anybody think I would be able to make a future for myself in computing? I'm a 14 year old girl, and when I'm older I would like to work in programming or game design, but I fear that my mind doesn't function correctly - I know some low-level stuff in Visual Basic programming but little else, as I have trouble remembering procedures correctly and have little initiative, needing to be given direct, thorough tutorials several times before I actually learn anything.
I also worry that my gender will create barriers for me in the future, as I have heard it is more difficult for girls to get the kind of jobs I'm interested in.
I would like an answer as to whether I could succeed as an adult, and if anybody knows of a good free computing course, that would help as well.

Thanks :)
-Naomi


I live in Pittsburgh, My mom and grandma both went to Pitt. I have around a 3.5 GPA now and will have a 3.75-3.8 by the end of the year. SAT 1090 CR + Math, 1690 Total, I took 1 AP and all Honors Classes through out my Highschool Career. I Am the Regional President Of BBYO Which is a Non Profit Teen Lead Organization. I have gone to several Leadership Training Camps, I am also in Several Clubs at school. I also Volunteer every week with two organizations for special education teens. I am Also Duel Enrolled at Pitt for one class.

Organizations I have been or am part of:
*BBYO- I started in BBYO my 9th Grade year and went up the ranks as time went on. I started off as my local Chapters Vice President of Communications, then was elected My Chapters President. In My Junior Year I was elected the Regional President of Keystone Mountain Region BBYO (Jewish Youth Teen Lead Youth Organization) which was Pennsylvania and West Virginia. I will hold this position throughout my Senior year. This is the highest position you can hold on a State level.
*Teen Connection- Youth Organization where I was involved for 3 straight years. I made sure events went well for all active and prospective members as a Regional Board Member.
*NFTY- A Reform Jewish Teen Group
*Jewish Student Union
*Stand UP! - Was a Representative for Pittsburgh in an international Organizational Initiative to "Stand Up" for world issues and to help ones own causes.
*Invisible Children- a World Wide Non Profit Organization whoa��s initiative is to end the abuse and killings of Children throughout Africa , I am a local teen Chair for IC.

Athletics
*Played Football Team - Freshman Year
*Taped as a school reporter and news reporter : Football, Baseball, Basketball, Hockey, and Womena��s Volleyball- I worked for our Local ABC News Affiliate WTAE and was a Sideline Reporter for the Station, I taped and reported from each of these different sports games throughout my Sophomore and Junior Years of high school.
*Managed School Basketball team Freshman and Sophomore years

Jobs:
*The Jewish Community Center for 4 years as camp staff
*Channel 4 WTAE ABC News as a Sideline Reporter for 2 years
*President of Non Profit BBYO


I think I am going to take the ACT in september to hopefully do better on that, but Im really nervous I wont get into anyof my schools. What can I do/

Thanks please dont give me the answer just apply or what not i want to save as much time and money as possible so please tell me which schools you think I can get into or not , or if i am in the middle and why, thanks.

My SAT scores again
Its a 1690 out of 2400 (including writing)
or a 1090 out of 1600 (without writing)


Strangely, she takes initiatives, but when I move in to "seal the deal directly" so to speak she deflects and evades all my attempts.

My chart:

Sun pisces
Moon Aquarius
Mars in Aries
Mercury in pisces
Venus in Aries
Saturn in Scorpio

Her chart:

Sun in capricorn
Moon in capricorn
mercury in capricorn
venus in pisces
mars in pisces
Saturn in scorpio


okay so me and my boyfriend have been dating for almost a year now and we have plans on moving in together to go to college. he planned to become an emt, he took his test but didn't pass so he is going to take it again. he doesn't show that much initiative to study all he worries about is surfing and playing video games. his parents are frustrated and tell him to study and they said that if he doesn't pass then he isn't moving with me. idk what to do i talked to him before about studying and to stop worrying so much about surfing and he got mad. he wants to become a nurse but right now he isn't trying. my parents feel like he isn't going to pursue it because he seems lazy. i really love him. but i need to have a talk with him without him getting mad.


My fiance's little brother just moved in with us three weeks ago. He's really a sweet 17 years old teenager, but I'm getting a bit frustrated at his attitude. He constantly expects me to cook for him and everyone else to take care of him money-wise. He came here with allowances from his parents, but he spent it all on video games within three days. He is constantly whining that he has no friends in the new city, no money and that he's bored.

I've tried suggesting to him that he should apply for a job as a way to make money and to meet new friends and even went around the city with him to pick up applications. But when it comes to filling out applications and writing out a resume, he expects me or his brother to do it for him!!!

Other than that, he sits his ass at home all day whining and playing video games. What can I do to convince him to take some initiatives?
He took his GED. and he says that he wants to go to college. But he won't take the initiative to apply or take his SAT or ACT.

Thanks for all the advices


I am running a D&D game with two of my friends. I think i'm running under the 3.5 system or D20 or something. They have already played the first map of the campaign and when ever they had to fight a monster it seemed kind of dry. "A spider jumps off the roof at you, roll initiative." *Battle music starts* *they kill it* *wining music starts* they go on. Then again and again...how can I make this more exciting and fun?


I have been a tomboy since I was young and I'm 16 now and a little bit more girly but not really. I will wear baggy clothes but also wear preppy clothes that show off my body. I love watching sports(but I can't really play them anymore because of knee problems). I mainly like to watch baseball, football, and basketball. I like to work out, because I like having muscles(there not overdeveloped or anything just toned and my abs are noticeable). I like to play video games and being outdoors. I wear natural makeup(no mascara just powder and foundation). I have short hair and I'm trying to grow it out and I can fit it into a tiny pony tail(the longest part is a little above my neck and the shortest is my bangs that are a little past my eyes and I'm getting really tempted to cut it again). I have dyed my hair a lighter shade before(just a different blond nothing drastic). I wear wear summer dresses during the summer(maybe three times) and I also wear short shorts, tight jeans, ect. I wear hollister, american eagle, and aeropostale. But I also like to wear sports jerseys and baggy basketball short and track pants. Do boys find this kind of stuff unattractive? Reason why I am asking is because I've never had a boyfriend, and when a boy shows interest I don't really take any sort of initiative so they don't either. I've been told I'm attractive but I don't really take it seriously(even if my friends point it out all the time when a guy I like(or just some random guy) is checking me out). Thank you in advance for the answers!I look forward to reading them. :D


I want to hear it ALL. Your theories, your predictions, everything!

My theories include...

-Charlie (Penny and Desmond's child) Will be the man in black and Aaron will be Jacob.

-Lost is a game. A battle of good and evil. In the first episode Locke talks to Walt about a game he is playing. He says, "This is a game of one 1 piece and one black piece.And then he holds them up. When they find the mummies inside of one of the pockets are 2 rocks one black and one white. The Dharma Initiative logo is black and white.

-When we fist saw Jacob and "MIB" MIB said "Do you know how much I want to kill you?" The loop hole was that the two couldn't kill each other. They had to get some one else to do it and then they would have to take the shape of the smoke monster or other deceased characters. (Like Walt, Ana Lucia, Charlie, Boone, Eko, Yemi, etc.)

-The smoke monster will be white now because the roles are reversed. Before the "man in black" took the shape of the smoke monster.
At the very end of The Incident for the fist time EVER it showed "LOST" black on white NOT white on black.

-All of the characters are coming back. OR there will be 4 or so episodes of what it would be like if Jack's plan worked. At Comic Con 2009 Dominic Monaghan (Charlie) walked in and on his hand it said, "Am I alive?" Hmm...ALSO at Comic Con 2009 they showed a picture of ALL of the cast and it said "The Final Season" under them.

-The Black Rock is the ship in the opening scene of The Incident.

-EVERYONE on LOST is connected in some way.

-In the last season there will be a 3rd group. A good group. At Comic Con 2009 they said they will explain who dropped the food. I think a good group did.

-MIB was inside of fake Locke.

-There is something more to Vincent.

That is all I can think of. Make comments and share yours!

Where did I get this from?
-www.sl-LOST.com
-www.lostisagame.com
-www.lostpedia.com
-LOSTchatter podcast
-Comic Con 2009
-Watching LOST OVER and OVER
-Discussing LOST with my fellow Lostie Lorraine.


I'm attempting to find a decent dice-bot for my mIRC channel, but it's coming harder than I thought... Are there any good links/scripts y'all could give me to try?

My game operates on a 1d100 system, but I would like it to do 1d100 plus or minus a modifier as well. What would be even more useful is if the bot could roll any number up to 100 (I've seen them, and I've played with them, but can't find one), and initiatives. Anyways, pretty much anything at this point would be useful.

Thanks in advance~

p.s. I. Suck. At. Scripting. I've been told to make my own, but that's pretty much out of the question :/. The best I can do is modify some simple scripts >_<


okay so heres the deal. I met this guy, lets call him Joe. Joe and I met about 7 months ago, but it was through my ex boyfriend. my ex and i have been on and off. but we decided that it was best that we didnt date any more. now 3 months has gone by since we last dated, and he has a girlfriend. his new girlfriend happens to be joe's ex. (joe and my ex's new gf only had a thing for like 3 weeks, they hardly ever talk now.) BUT, i never thought i would have feelings for joe, but i do. ALOT. Joe and I have gotten really close, and when we first met, we both realized that we trust eachother with ALOT! we tell eachother everything, and like its great. but recently, we have been flirting soo much, and i cant tell if he likes me or not. im pretty sure its because of my psyco ex , it makes it hard. so anyways... on the last day of school i had a pool party and it was alot of fun and all. then at the end of the party, joe and 2 of my girl friends stayed and we went to play truth or dare in my room. so after a few dares went by, joe and i were dared to kiss... one kiss turned into a little bit of making out. i kinda took the initiative on that one. ha so after that, he told me that he didnt want my ex to find out...but since then, school is out and joe and i have been hanging out ALOT and talking almost daily. we went to a baseball game together last week and then hung out til like midnight.. (doesnt seem like a HUGE deal, but you have to know my parents, who love him) anyways. last night Joe and i were talking, and that kiss came up, and i asked where he and i stood, like as friends or more. and he said that sometimes he could feel it, and other times, it was just a great friendship. and thats how i feel too. i asked if he regreted kissing me, and he said of course not, and some sweet things too.. but then i said, well what do we do now? and he said " well i guess we will just wait and see, if something happens, well then, you know, :) but yeah. im not sure if he does actually like me, but yeah.. i feel like i am forgeting a detail. but PLEASE HELP!


(tl;dr*) Ok, i don't get it. Im 18, and find myself at home, fairly bored most of time, and occasionally succumbing to the dark veil of loneliness. I play guitar and drums, so they take up most of my time. cant stand tv, and not really one for video games either. Now i know, get out the house and make some friends, socialize right? Well that's the thing. I have friends, maybe not the most or the closest, but that'ss as much my fault as it is anyone else's. i enjoy socialising, but only at no cost to me. enjoy hanging out with mates, as long as its not at my house, organized by someone else, and all i have to do is turn up. heck, i wont even propose a social gathering, so if someone else doesn't, it wont happen. extremely selfish, but whenever i decide to take some initiative on it, i feel an immense loathing and lethargy. the idea of hosting others is an immense turnoff (i managed to keep my last ex out of my house til about a year into our relationship!) i guess it just feels like if im making the effort, im exposing myself, and makes me vulnerable and uncomfortable. like now, im home alone for the next two weeks, perfect party opportunity, but i just...don't want to? *So there's this battle in me, between my inertia to socialising/self consciousness, and desire to socialise/loneliness. So please, two things. First, help!, what do i do?! And second, on average, how much time per week do you spend with others, and what do you fill the rest of the time doing? Muchas gracias!


I'm doing a speech on Queen Elizabeth 1st and I thought I'd show some initiative and do a sort of play instead of a regular speech. here's what I have so far:

Queen Elizabeth 1st

Oh, hello there peasants. I didna��t see you there all the way up here on my high-horse! Well, leta��s get down to business, shall we?
(Someone walks up)
Oh, one moment... WHAT?! WELL, TAKE OFF HIS HEAD. Oh, just one minute, urchins, I must take care of a situation.
(Walk to a window.)
OFF WITH HIS HEAD!!
(Walk back, muttering a�?Honestly, the insolencea��a�?)
Where was I before I was rudely interrupted? Oh yes, leta��s play a game of a�?scream and run away from the Queen!a�? Oh, youa��ve never played? Well, herea��s how it goesa��
(Picks up an axe; hold up a sign in elegant script that reads a�?screama�?)
Now run away!
(Laughs evilly)

Black out- End of teaser

(The Queen is in bed, asleep, giggling)
Run awaya��
(She gasps, sits up. Smiles.)
(She hops out of bed, and makes her way to a vanity desk where she admires herself for a moment and then sits down and applies perfume from an atomizer.)
Ok, I see you looking at me like that; you would be crabby too if your mother was beheaded. I was only three and it was because she failed to produce a son by my father, Henry VIII. Ia��ve had hardships too, you know. Get this; my father married a woman before my poor mother was even in the ground! Well, 11 days after she passed on, to be precise. The woman died twelve days after she gave birth to my fathera��s son. On more important matters, I was born on 7th September 1533...

(The bit below is just a line I wanted to include somewhere)
Mad people have started a cult, did you hear? Ia��m now famous for my virginity.

Do you have any suggestions to make this better or what else to include?
Thanks in advance!


In the past 12 years, the NL has had a lot of great players, but has still not won an all-star game. Which players who played in any of the past 12 all-star games would a roster need to be compiled of in order for the NL to win one time? List the player and the year in which they were in the all-star game.

Bonus: What would have been a better roster for the NL to have won this last game? Should there have been a different pitching rotation? Also, were there any player swaps/managerial moves or plays which caused the NL to lose?

Bonus 2: What is your opinion on the "This Time It Counts" initiative for the all-star game? Good or bad?


Hall of Fame Pitcher and current US Senator Jim Bunning (R-Ken.) has announced that he will introduce a motion on the floor of the Senate next week calling for the impeachment of President Barack Obama.
In a press release dated July 15, 2009, Bunning stated that, "The entire community of baseball fans and other good Americans are incredibly disappointed in the quality of pitching that has been exhibited by President Obama last night in St. Louis. I feel that, as a former pitcher, it is my duty to protect the integrity of this time honored tradition of Presidential first pitches, and feel that we need to get a President who does not throw like a girl. While I appreciate President Obama's economic programs, his health care initiatives, and his deep understanding of both foreign and domestic policy, I simply can not have my country be embarrassed by another liberal who can't be bothered to attend to the affairs of pitching. Not only will I call for his impeachment, but I am also sponsoring a Constitutional Amendment declaring that anyone who can not throw at least 85 mph and throw strikes consistently be considered ineligible for election, not only to the Presidency, but to any elected office, whether it be at the federal, state, county or municipal level, throughout this great baseball loving land of ours."
When asked if he had polled his constituency, Bunning replied, 'No, not directly. But being that more fans in on line forums seem concerned about the first pitch than the actual game itself, it is obvious that this is the hot button topic for all good Americans. Only liberals and communists would actually think the game itself is what mattered. True Americans, that is the ones smart enough to know that all liberals throw like girls realize that President Obama's lack of pitching ability is proof that he is sympathetic to Muslim interests, and is also definitive proof that he could not possibly actually be a native born American citizen, and should be treated as a direct threat on our national security, and to the high regard in which Americans are held all over the world."

What do you think?
Does Senator Bunning have a point?

Discuss.


I'd like to share an idea with the creator of The Sims 3 so maybe he could add it into one of the expansion packs. It's something a lot of sim fans want actually, but nobody seems to have taken the initiative to get in contact with him. I'd prefer contacting him through email because it's quicker than snail mail. Or if I could just get in contact with the part of EA that works on The Sims, that would work fine too. The only emails I have found though are for if you have a problem with the game, which is not what I'm looking for and I know my email will then be ignored. So, anybody have an email I can try?
Ok, I know I most likely won't be listened to and most likely I won't talk to him, but it's worth a shot, right? You never know until you try.


Which activities seem most enjoyable, and fun. I'm going to sleepaway camp and I choose three activities to do for the seven days I stay there::

* Air Riflery
* Archery
* Can U Do It? (Initiatives & Team-building)
* Canoeing
* Crafts
* Drama
* Horsemanship
* Kayaking
* Nature Discovery
* Outdoor Cooking
* Outdoor Living Skills
* Puppets
* Sailing
* Sports & Games
* Summer Surprise: Do a different activity every day.
* Tubing


Which activities seem most enjoyable, and fun. I'm going to sleepaway camp and I choose three activities to do for the seven days I stay there::

* Air Riflery
* Archery
* Can U Do It? (Initiatives & Team-building)
* Canoeing
* Crafts
* Drama
* Horsemanship
* Kayaking
* Nature Discovery
* Outdoor Cooking
* Outdoor Living Skills
* Puppets
* Sailing
* Sports & Games
* Summer Surprise: Do a different activity every day.
* Tubing

Fourth time I've asked, but I really need opinions. Thanks! And you can only choose three activities.


Which activities seem most enjoyable, and fun. I'm going to sleepaway camp and I choose three activities to do for the seven days I stay there::

* Air Riflery
* Archery
* Can U Do It? (Initiatives & Team-building)
* Canoeing
* Crafts
* Drama
* Horsemanship
* Kayaking
* Nature Discovery
* Outdoor Cooking
* Outdoor Living Skills
* Puppets
* Sailing
* Sports & Games
* Summer Surprise: Do a different activity every day.
* Tubing

Fourth time I've asked, but I really need opinions. Thanks! And you can only choose three activities.


Which activities seem most enjoyable, and fun. I'm going to sleepaway camp and I choose three activities to do for the seven days I stay there::

* Air Riflery
* Archery
* Can U Do It? (Initiatives & Team-building)
* Canoeing
* Crafts
* Drama
* Horsemanship
* Kayaking
* Nature Discovery
* Outdoor Cooking
* Outdoor Living Skills
* Puppets
* Sailing
* Sports & Games
* Summer Surprise: Do a different activity every day.
* Tubing

Which one would you do? I'm looking for opinions, I asked this twice but please answer. I choose this the day I get to camp, and I'm going in a few days so I need to figure out what I want to do.


OK, at my all girls sleep away camp, we choose three activities to do. These are the activity choices this year for my age group, which should I do:

* Air Riflery
* Archery
* Can U Do It? (Initiatives & Team-building)
* Canoeing
* Crafts
* Drama
* Horsemanship
* Kayaking
* Nature Discovery
* Outdoor Cooking
* Outdoor Living Skills
* Puppets
* Sailing
* Sports & Games
* Summer Surprise
* Tubing


Summer Surprise is something where you do different things every day.

MAIN QUESTION: Which activities sound the most fun to you? I need opinionson this, because I will be doing these aactivities for a whole week so I want to make sure they seem fun to everyone and myself. Thanks<3


I've been dating a guy for about a month and a half, but he doesn't keep in touch all that much. He more so calls the day of or day before wanting to do something. We are attracted to one another and do do a lot when we see each other- dinner, conversate for hours, movies, walks, games, etc. and I have been to his house. But I always feel like I'm making the initiative (calls, texts), he does almost always reply back right away though. I know he also has a busy career. I confronted him saying it doesn't seem like he is that interested and his response was that he thinks things are going good, seeing each other twice a week and if they keep going good we can move to the next level. So, is he just wanting to take it slow or would he be doing more and seeing me more if he was truly interested?
He also stated that he has been waiting for me to invite me to my place seeing that I've been to his several times. He also said that we're not here to just waste each other's time.


I have been dating a guy for a month now. We are attracted to one another, have good conversation, and a lot of fun. We have seen each other 8 times so far. We do a lot when we see one another- dinner, movies, walks, drinks, board games, etc. During the first few dates he was sending me e-mails and calling. But now after the first few dates, I feel like I'm always making the initiative. He does respond back, but doesn't seem as interested. I have been to his place several times, we haved messed around, but not all the way. Is it too early to ask him where we stand? I don't want to be clingy or scare him away, but also want to know there is potential and don't want to waste my time. We met online and since then he still goes on and recently updated his profile a few days ago. I don't want to be possessive, but is it ok that he is still looking? Do I ask him? How? I haven't dated in 4 years, so this is all new to me.
I am 30 and he is 32.


I'm 24 years old and was with my ex- fiance for 6yrs. We have a 3 yr old together.....almost a year ago he cheated. I moved out with our son. He was caught up with his new fling, went a few months without calling his son and no child support. He claimed he had no money but seems to go out and get wasted all the time. All the times he did see his son in those few months was b/c I would call him and see if he could watch him for me. (Like if I have errands to run or a test to study for.) He rarely said no but when I would bring him the baby he would just stay in bed hung over from the night before and his mom or brother would take care of him. We talked thru it and he has since improved. He claims he still wants to be "friends" and Ia��m open to being civil with him for the sake of my child...My problem is I find that when he and I have differences he will do one of two things. He'll either stop showing up/ calling my son or he'll start hanging out with the girl he cheated on me with. Both of which Ia��m exhausted of. My one request in regards to her is that he not have her around my son unless he is serious about pursuing something more, if that is the case i asked that they both meet with me and we'll chat about it. He claims she is nothing and still has brought her around the baby multiple times. I stay calm and remind him that he isnt hurting me, he ultimately is hurting his son. (it does hurt a little) I find myself at a point where i am just utterly exhausted of dealing with him. I care for him but i am tired of his games and the way his behavior has caused my son and I pain. My child luvs his dad and i have done all i can to encourage their bond but I feel like his dad never takes the initiative. I am a young single parent and I dont know how to start my life apart from my childs father. The fact is I never broke up with anyone that i was bonded to for the rest of my life. all my other exes i just never spoke to again...but I am forced to deal with him. How do i do that but still regain my sense of self and get over him and the idea of us as a family??? I'm sorry if it seems long winded but i surely can u all the help i can get. Thanks for reading.


He really confuses me. He plays hard-to-get and it seems like he's playing a game with my feelings.. it seems like he is attracted to me, but at the same time not. If I smile at him, he'll turn red and smile back.. but I feel like he is very distant from me. Why is this? Is he shy? Afraid of rejection? And he never takes the initiative to come and talk to me first. What can I do?


The White House Skip Main Navigation
PRESIDENT | VICE PRESIDENT | FIRST LADY | MRS. CHENEY | NEWS
Your Government | History & Tours | Kids | E-mail | En EspaA�ol

Podcasts Podcasts RSS Feeds RSS Feeds
In Focus

* Afghanistan
* Africa
* Budget Management
* Defense
* Economy
* Education
* Energy
* Environment
* Global Diplomacy
* Health Care
* Homeland Security
* Immigration
* International Trade
* Iraq
* Judicial Nominations
* Middle East
* National Security
* Veterans

More Issues more issues

News

* Current News
* Press Briefings
* Proclamations
* Executive Orders
* Radio
* Setting the Record Straight

More News more news

Interact

* Ask the White House
* White House Interactive



Your Government

* President's Cabinet
* USA Freedom Corps
* Faith-Based & Community Initiatives
* Office of Management and Budget
* National Security Council
* USA.gov



Appointments

* Nominations
* Applications




Link to Barney's Front Page
Barney Photos

Barney and Miss Beazley follow President George W. Bush along the West Wing Colonnade Wednesday, July 23, 2008, on the way back to the Oval Office at the White House. White House photo by Joyce Boghosian
Barney and Miss Beazley follow President George W. Bush along the West Wing Colonnade Wednesday, July 23, 2008, on the way back to the Oval Office at the White House. White House photo by Joyce Boghosian
Photo of the Day Archive

2008
2008
2007
2007
2006
2006
2005
2005
2004
2004

Email this page


Barney's Bio
BarneyBarney, the President's Scottish Terrier, was born on September 30, 2000. Although just seven years old, Barney has starred in nine "films" and has lived quite an exciting life... A� Barney's Biography

Miss Beazley, a Scottish Terrier, arrived at the White House on January 6, 2005 as a birthday present from the President to Mrs. Bush... A� Miss Beazley's Biography
Barney's Films

Barney Cam VII: A Red, White and Blue Christmas (2008)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

Barney Cam VI: Holiday in the National Parks (2007)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

My Barney Valentine (2007)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

Barney's Holiday Extravaganza (2006)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media
a�? Text Version

A Very Beazley Christmas (2005)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media
a�? Text Version

Barney and Miss Beazley's Spring Garden Tour (2005)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

Barney has found Miss Beazley (2005)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

Where in the White House is Miss Beazley? (2004)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

Barney Reloaded (2003)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

Barney and Spot's Winter Wonderland (2003)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media

Barney Cam (2002)
a�? Windows Media
a�? Quicktime
a�? Real Media
Got a Question. Just send us an E-mail.
November 22, 2004 | 3:32 p.m.(EDT)

Q. Morgan from England writes:

Dear Mr. Barney,
I was wondering if you could help me with my maths homework. What is 7x7?

A. Barney, First Dog:
Barney 49.

Barney Questions Archive

Got a question for Barney? Send the White House an email...
Barney Photos
Barney Cam 2007 Photo Essay

Barney Cam 2006 Photo Essay

Barney Cam 2005 Photo Essay

Barney Cam Photo Essay

Barney Photo Match Game

decoration
President | Vice President | First Lady | Mrs. Cheney | News & Policies
History & Tours | Kids | Your Government | Appointments | Jobs | Contact |
Accessibility | Search | Privacy Policy | Help | Site Map


I have been dating a guy for a month and a half. We see each other about twice a week. We work different shifts, so it can be a little difficult for spending time together. The thing is, he rarely keeps in contact in between seeing one another. He usually calls the day before or the day of wanting to do something. We do do a lot of fun stuff- movies, dinner, drinks, walks, games, etc. (not just sit around the house), and when I am at his place he tells me to make myself at home. The thing is I don't even know where we stand- casual dating, exclusive dating, boyfriend/girlfriend, etc. Do I just ask this or is it too soon? I don't want to rush things, but I don't want to waste my time either and just be "someone for now." I'm also a little upset, for this past Friday, I was off (I usually work) and he said we could maybe do something, but he never even got back to me since. I sent a text and called. What should I do? When first dating, how often should you keep in touch with one another? I don't always want to be the one making the initiative.
I am 30 and he is 32.


Well my three best friends told me that they think she likes me. I thought they were crazy. She tends to play saying that I am his boyfriend. Hugging me and telling me she loves me. Well I dont know if she really likes me. But, one of my friends was talking with me. And she comes to hug me. She says: '' you know were a couple''. He says oh really ? And starts asking her if she is talking seriously. She says yes. He asks her again. And then tells her that if she is not playing with me because I take things seriously and that I remeber everything people tell me. So I just blushed and she also did. And said no Im not playing without laughing. The other day happens the same thing. My friend tells her he is worried about me. He tells her that my mood is very bad. That I am going emo. He tells her that I need her to be happy. She laughs and hugs me. i blushed again U.U. The next day a friend sees that she hugs me and laughs and says that we are hilarious playing to love each other. And she says that were not playing. That she really loves me. And says that I feel something for her, something bigger for her. My friend just shuts up. I stay for her soccer game on the afternoon. I just realized I really love her. But I cant do anything about it. Cause Im very shy and cant tell her to go to the movies or something. Because I never tell her that So I would surely blush. And girls dont tend to take the initiative. So this will probly be another sad story for me ='( unless I do something, but Im not brave enough to do it. So what can I do ?
She knows Im a really shy guy. Last time we were on a party she asked me to go dance with her. I had to say no. But I said it while laughing. The next day she asked my didnt I danced with her. And I blushed and told her that Im very shy and told her I was really sorry. That I just get nervous


The Boy Scouts of America, known for teaching young people about good citizenship and survival skills, is about to celebrate its 100th anniversary. As the venerable youth organization approaches this big birthday, however, it is preparing for its own survival test: Can it draw Hispanic children into its declining ranks? The group's goal is to double its Hispanic membership by the time it turns 100.

"One hundred yearsa��that's a great [target] for us," said Marcos Nava. Nava is director of the Boy Scouts program's National Hispanic Initiatives Division.

The Boy Scouts of America remains the largest youth organization in the U.S. However, the club's membership numbers have been declining steadily. Today, about 2.8 million youths belong to the group. However, that is only about half its peak membership. It reached its peak membership in 1972.

The club's declining popularity is primarily a result of young people's changing interests over the years. Many teenagers today are more interested in activities like watching TV and playing video games. Teens today are less interested in the activities for which the Scouts have become famous. These activities include learning to build campfires and memorizing the Scout oath.

In an effort to boost membership, the Boy Scouts organization is attempting to draw into the program more Hispanic children. These children are currently underrepresented in the organization. According to the U.S. Census, 1 in 5 children under age 18 in the U.S. is Hispanic, but only 1 in 33 Scouts is Hispanic. Drawing this growing population to the Boy Scouts could be the key to the organization's survival.

Rick Cronk is the chairman of the World Scout Committee. Cronk was disappointed to learn that Hispanics were underrepresented in the organization. In the past, the Boy Scouts tried to reach out to Hispanic communities by translating program brochures into Spanish. This effort, Cronk realized, had proven insufficient to help the organization meet its goal of doubling its Hispanic membership by its 100th anniversary.

Cronk, a seasoned business executive, pondered the problem of Hispanic underrepresentation in the Boy Scouts program. He knew the Boy Scouts had a good product. However, much of the organization's new target group, Hispanics, had never even heard of it. So Cronk made Hispanic outreach a main focus. He set out to "sell" Boy Scouts as if it were any other consumer product. The Boy Scouts organization hired a media and marketing company that reaches out specifically to Hispanic communities. The Boy Scouts also conducted a yearlong survey of Hispanic attitudes toward the Scouts.

"We knew very little about the Hispanic family, how they see us, what they value," Cronk said.

Based on the results of the survey, the Boy Scouts is now adopting a new approach. Its goal is to create awareness about the organization among parents in Hispanic communities. The organization is kicking off pilot programs in six heavily Hispanic cities to test its new methods. The group is planning radio and television ads and hiring bicultural, Spanish-speaking staffers. It is also partnering with other organizations that serve Hispanics.

"We're serious about this," said Rob Mazzuca, Chief Scout Executive. "This is a reinventing of the Boy Scouts of America."

The Boy Scouts organization is confident that its renewed effort will successfully reach the Hispanic group. Carlos Alcazar serves on the Boy Scouts National Scoutreach Committee. According to Alcazar, the organization's traditional values dovetail well with those of Hispanic families. These values include respect, discipline, and community involvement.

"We either are going to figure out how to make Scouting the most exciting, [active] organization for Hispanic kids, or we're going to be out of business," said Cronk.


1. Which of the following technological advances in the 1990s was most influential in popularizing cellular phones?
A. Large-scale cellular networks
B. Satellite technology
C. Wireless digital technology
D. Microprocessors

2. What technological advance had a significant affect on consumer products in the 1990s, often allowing products to connect to each other and to computers?
A. Digital technology
B. Internet technology
C. Wireless technology
D. Cable technology

3. What technological advance in the 1990s made the Internet accessible to the public at large?
A. E-mail
B. The World Wide Web
C. Blogs
D. Laptop computers

4. What technological advances made telecommuting possible in the 1990s?
A. The integrated circuit and cellular phones
B. Microprocessors and satellite dishes
C. Home computers and e-mail
D. The World Wide Web and blogs

5. The worldwide network of computers connected by phone lines, cable lines, and wireless communications widely used by the general public since the 1990s is called
A. ARPANET.
B. the Internet.
C. Local Area Network.
D. Large Area Network.

6. What was created in the 1990s as a result of the increasing popularity of the World Wide Web?
A. A slump in traditional store sales
B. A digital revolution
C. Highly interactive personal video game devices
D. A dot-com economy

7. What technological advance made smaller home computers, like the Apple II, possible?
A. Microprocessors
B. Digital cables
C. Transistor
D. Satellite dishes

8. What was developed in the 1990s that is used on the World Wide Web to access different Web sites and pages on the Internet?
A. MS-DOS
B. Hypertext
C. ARPANET
D. Operating system

9. What foreign policy event took place in Ohio during President Clintona��s first term in office?
A. Negotiations to stop the fighting in Kosovo, known as the NATO Alliance Treaty
B. Peace talks to end the war in Bosnia, which became a plan called the Dayton Accords
C. Meetings to discuss unresolved issues between Israel and Palestine, called the Cleveland Summit
D. Discussions to bring a democratic government back to power in Haiti, known as the Fight for Democracy

10. In his first term in office, Clintona��s economic policy included raising taxes because
A. Republicans in Congress convinced him it was necessary for balancing the budget.
B. he needed to pay for his new national health care plan.
C. he had promised to raise taxes during the 1992 campaign.
D. he did not want to cut entitlement programs.

11. What event occurred as a result of the 1995 standoff over the new federal budget between Clinton and congressional Republicans?
A. Clinton backed down and allowed Republicans to pass their budget.
B. The federal government shut down for lack of funds.
C. The president lost the support of many Americans.
D. Republicans created the Contract with America to fund social programs.

12. Which of the following successful legislative initiatives during Clintona��s administration most helped parents?
A. Brady Bill
B. Housing Relief Bill
C. Family Medical Leave Act
D. Welfare Reform Act

13. As President Clintona��s popularity declined near the 1994 midterm elections, what did Republicans in Congress do?
A. They proposed the Balanced Budget proposal.
B. They created the Contract with America.
C. They established the AmeriCorps program.
D. They ratified the Alliance for Progress.

14. Which major policy proposal during Clintona��s first term as president was opposed by many groups, and was never voted on by Congress?
A. Gun control reform
B. Welfare reform
C. Health care reform
D. Tax reform

15. Choose the statement below that most accurately describes the result of Clintona��s impeachment trials, a significant event in his second administration.
A. Clinton was impeached on charges of perjury and obstruction of justice.
B. Clinton was impeached and removed from office.
C. Clinton was not impeached, but chose to resign from office because of negative public opinion.
D. Clinton was not impeached, but was only charged with perjury and obstruction of justice.

16. A significant foreign policy event occurred during President Clintona��s administration in 1993 when Israeli and Palestinian leaders met in Washington D.C. to sign
A. the Gaza Truce, which brought an end to fighting in the Gaza Strip.
B. the Wye Agreement, which established new borders between Israel and Syria.
C. the Camp David Accords, creating peace between Israel and Egypt.
D. the Declaration of Principles, to create a Palestinian government.

17. Which of the following legislative acts caused a great increase in immigration to the United States?
A. The McCarran-Walter Act
B. The Immigration Act of 1965
C. The Open Door Act
D. The Migration


I apologize for the lengthy question but if you're up to reading it then I'd appriciate any advice.

I've been dating this girl for approximately 5 months. They usually consist of weekend trips. It is a long distance relationship as we met online. It's approximately a 3 hour drive to and from her house. I've made about 8 trips there and she's made 1 trip here thus far but that is mostly because she's just graduating college and cannot afford to make that many trips. Plus, being at her "place" gives her a bit more security than it would be traveling to mine so I accommodated her for that reason. As note she's in her mid 20's and I'm in my late 20's.

A little bit about her:

She's a virgin and she's not the type of girl who's very in touch with her feelings. In fact I'd say she's pretty apathetic towards mostly everything (most likely a defensive mechanism) and it's very difficult at times for me to determine how interested she is in this relationship. She does not reciprocate the "love" nearly as much as I do. Usually if I say "I miss you" she'll say it back. Never takes the initiative in such things. She told me from the get-go that I was her first serious relationship of any kind that went beyond "1st base". She's the type of girl who's very self-conscious and I might be the first guy who's had a really serious interest in her or the first she's allowed past the huge walls she's put up over the years.

One thing that bothers me is that she tends to cry when we mess around sexually which either makes me think she doesn't want it or she's just not ready for it. She wants me to be her first but when it comes right down to it she's so afraid that she cries excessively and makes it very difficult.

She seems to like to keep her "distance" meaning trying NOT to commit to the relationship in any way or making herself "vulnerable". She said she loved me and honestly think she regretted even saying it after-wards, not because she doesn't necessarily doesn't love me (hard to say) but because I think it makes her feel vulnerable. I've said it since to her and she hesitates greatly before repeating it back to me again, almost as if she made a mistake the first time. There have been situations where she's said "you'll get bored of me!" and more than one occasion where she's broken up into tears over the phone because I was trying to communicate my discontent with her nonreciprocal attitude and her "distance" even though we have something I think could be very special. I honestly think she's under the constant assumption that the relationship will NOT last because eventually I'm going to find a better girl. Truth is I adore her but the problem is it's her own inhibition and fear that's keeping the relationship from really being great. I've told her numerous times how beautiful/smart/funny she is but she rarely compliments me. I'm a decent looking guy but she tends to shoot me down as much as possible...could this potentially be because of her own insecurities? She's said such things as "you could learn alot from these boys" when we were in a park for instance. I asked what she meant by that but she didn't respond. Could have been because I was coming on too strongly for her? I don't know.

I try my best to be as positive as possible with her by telling her she's beautiful/smart/funny/etc.. (which I Truely believe even if she doesn't) but at times her general low self esteem ends up frustrating me greatly and I can say things that I sometimes regret. Such as criticizing her for not reciprocating or communicating with me. Just FYI she plays computer games for hours and hours on end (MMORPG) and I've told her time and again that it's not healthy to do this and I know from personal experience that it's a way of hiding away depression. The game forces people to put real life on the back burner and "hide" away in a fantasy world where you can be anyone you wish to be. It's pretty scary.

This is a relationship that I Truely want to work but it's long distance right now (we see each other 2-3 weekends a month) and I'm honestly at my wits end with this. I'm really not sure if she's EVER going to change or get our of her place where she things she's not worth the effort. I'm a much more open person than she is and I enjoy the good things that come with a relationship and I'm not sure if she'll ever turn this around.

The only thing I can do with her is try to be positive as possible and compliment her at every turn and hope that someday she gets self-confidence in herself. I'm not sure if that will ever happen and I'm not sure if investing god knows how long waiting for it.

Just note that I would like to make this relationship work. I think she's a great girl except for the one big thing and I'm trying my best to figure out how to handle it.

Any advice is appriciated, how would you handle this situation?


I apologize for the lengthy question but if you're up to reading it then I'd appriciate any advice.

I've been dating this girl for approximately 5 months. They usually consist of weekend trips. It is a long distance relationship as we met online. It's approximately a 3 hour drive to and from her house. I've made about 8 trips there and she's made 1 trip here thus far but that is mostly because she's just graduating college and cannot afford to make that many trips. Plus, being at her "place" gives her a bit more security than it would be traveling to mine so I accommodated her for that reason. As note she's in her mid 20's and I'm in my late 20's.

A little bit about her:

She's a virgin and she's not the type of girl who's very in touch with her feelings. In fact I'd say she's pretty apathetic towards mostly everything (most likely a defensive mechanism) and it's very difficult at times for me to determine how interested she is in this relationship. She does not reciprocate the "love" nearly as much as I do. Usually if I say "I miss you" she'll say it back. Never takes the initiative in such things. She told me from the get-go that I was her first serious relationship of any kind that went beyond "1st base". She's the type of girl who's very self-conscious and I might be the first guy who's had a really serious interest in her or the first she's allowed past the huge walls she's put up over the years.

One thing that bothers me is that she tends to cry when we mess around sexually which either makes me think she doesn't want it or she's just not ready for it. She wants me to be her first but when it comes right down to it she's so afraid that she cries excessively and makes it very difficult.

She seems to like to keep her "distance" meaning trying NOT to commit to the relationship in any way or making herself "vulnerable". She said she loved me and honestly think she regretted even saying it after-wards, not because she doesn't necessarily doesn't love me (hard to say) but because I think it makes her feel vulnerable. I've said it since to her and she hesitates greatly before repeating it back to me again, almost as if she made a mistake the first time. There have been situations where she's said "you'll get bored of me!" and more than one occasion where she's broken up into tears over the phone because I was trying to communicate my discontent with her nonreciprocal attitude and her "distance" even though we have something I think could be very special. I honestly think she's under the constant assumption that the relationship will NOT last because eventually I'm going to find a better girl. Truth is I adore her but the problem is it's her own inhibition and fear that's keeping the relationship from really being great. I've told her numerous times how beautiful/smart/funny she is but she rarely compliments me. I'm a decent looking guy but she tends to shoot me down as much as possible...could this potentially be because of her own insecurities? She's said such things as "you could learn alot from these boys" when we were in a park for instance. I asked what she meant by that but she didn't respond. Could have been because I was coming on too strongly for her? I don't know.

I try my best to be as positive as possible with her by telling her she's beautiful/smart/funny/etc.. (which I Truely believe even if she doesn't) but at times her general low self esteem ends up frustrating me greatly and I can say things that I sometimes regret. Such as criticizing her for not reciprocating or communicating with me. Just FYI she plays computer games for hours and hours on end (MMORPG) and I've told her time and again that it's not healthy to do this and I know from personal experience that it's a way of hiding away depression. The game forces people to put real life on the back burner and "hide" away in a fantasy world where you can be anyone you wish to be. It's pretty scary.

This is a relationship that I Truely want to work but it's long distance right now (we see each other 2-3 weekends a month) and I'm honestly at my wits end with this. I'm really not sure if she's EVER going to change or get our of her place where she things she's not worth the effort. I'm a much more open person than she is and I enjoy the good things that come with a relationship and I'm not sure if she'll ever turn this around.

The only thing I can do with her is try to be positive as possible and compliment her at every turn and hope that someday she gets self-confidence in herself. I'm not sure if that will ever happen and I'm not sure if investing god knows how long waiting for it.

Just note that I would like to make this relationship work. I think she's a great girl except for the one big thing and I'm trying my best to figure out how to handle it.

Any advice is appriciated, how would you handle this situation?
I've looked into this and I'm pretty sure (hard to just come out and ask these things) she's never been molested or raped. I think its' just a matter of extremely low self-esteem and immaturity.

No comments:

Post a Comment